Oscar Wilde [1897]

There is not a single flower, or the curve of a shell, to which, by some subtle sympathy with the very soul of things, my nature does not answer. Like Gautier, I have always been one of those “pour qui le monde visible existe.” Still, I am conscious now that behind all this beauty, satisfying though it may be, there is some spirit hidden of which the painted forms and shapes are but modes of manifestation, and it is with this spirit that I desire to become in harmony. I have grown tired of the articulate utterances of men and things. The Mystical in Art, the Mystical in Life, the Mystical in Nature–this is what I am looking for. It is absolutely necessary for me to find it somewhere. –De Profundis

Leave a Reply

